top of page
  • swwresearch

New Histories of the Home Front: Global Online Seminar Series, 6 December 2023

Updated: Nov 28, 2023

Are there similarities between Scottish, Russian, and New Zealand Māori experiences of the Second World War? Join us for the next event in our online global seminar series to find out more. This event will take place on 6 December from 8-9pm GMT (7 December in New Zealand/Australia) and will feature Professor Wendy Goldman, Professor Angela Wanhalla, and Dr Michelle Moffat.


The panel discussion will focus on the new ground forged by the authors’ recent studies of the Second World War, including key arguments relating to dissent, national identity, and public responses to state measures. Professor Goldman will discuss her award-winning book Fortress Dark and Stern: The Soviet Home Front during World War II; Dr Michelle Moffat on her newly published study Scottish Society in the Second World War: Tradition, Tension, Transformation; and Professor Wanhalla her upcoming publication Te Hau Kainga: The Māori Home Front. Panelists will speak for thirty minutes, followed by discussion and questions. The event is free, but booking is essential. Please click here to book.


(For our global audience, the event will take place on: 7 December at 9am NZDT / 7am AEDT / 4am SST and 6 December at 8pm GMT / 3pm EST / 12pm PST)




274 views0 comments
bottom of page